Day 5: Twelve Days of Christmas: The Story Behind These Strange Gifts?


“…Fivvvvve golden rings…” or you could say the first five books of the Old Testament. You may have heard them called the Books of Moses, the Torah, or the Pentateuch, and they include Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These stories walk us from creation until Moses crossed the Jordan and they teach us about our identity as children of God. 

These traditional books were taught and continue to be taught as the traditions of the foundation of faith. Christmas time is always a great time to reflect on the traditions of our faith and our families.  

Day 5 Action: Start a new tradition today by making your own “five golden rings.” We’ve got a delicious donut recipe for the family. Have some fun baking… and eating them too!

For the “Story Behind These GIfts” click here

For Day 1: A Partridge in a Pear Tree click here

For Day 2: Two Turtle Doves click here

For Day 3: Three French Hens click here

For Day 4: Four Turtle Doves click here