Immersive Sculptures to Wow at Strand Ephemera


Townsville’s spectacular outdoor sculpture exhibition, Strand Ephemera, is back for 2019 – with the list of artists now finalised.

Strand Ephemera will see the 2km promenade along the beach lined with sculptures as part of the inaugural North Australian Festival of Arts (NAFA).

Townsville Mayor Jenny Hill said there are some exciting displays planned for this year’s event.

“This year there are some exceptional sculptures being created by local, national and international artists that will be on display along the Strand,” Cr Hill said.

“Visitors to the city will be treated to an extremely high-calibre exhibition that really showcases Townsville as the events, arts and culture capital of Northern Australia.

“Over 150,000 people visited Strand Ephemera in 2017 and with the exhibition being a part of NAFA this year, there will be more people visiting the Strand and the city.”

Community and Cultural Development Committee Chair Cr Colleen Doyle said the quality of artists taking part in the exhibition is outstanding.

“There are some incredibly immersive and beautiful pieces that are going to be on display this year,” Cr Doyle said.

“There is a $10,000 major prize available for the artists involved in the event, and I believe it is going to be a very tough competition.

“This is an extra exciting year for the artists art as they are also now a part of the first ever North Australian Festival of Arts.”

Strand Ephemera is a part of the NAFA program which will run throughout the entire month of July alongside Townsville’s own Fringe Festival, The Northern Fringe.

The competitive artists are:

  • Leonard Andy & Nina Dawson
  • Lisa Ashcroft
  • Suzannah Babicci
  • Derek Besant
  • Bowen State High School
  • Graeme Buckley, Lynn Scott-Cumming & Rhonda Stevens
  • Lella Chakravarti & Edward O’Brien
  • Dominique & Samuel Chen
  • Counterpoint Architecture & Digimen
  • Karl De Waal
  • Therese Duff, Peter Hanley, Dennis O’Toole & Issara Singtothong
  • Carla Gottgens
  • Erica Gray
  • Jane Hawkins, Sally Munns & Rhonda Payne
  • Jan Hynes
  • Victoria Lees
  • Tijn Meulendijks
  • Karl Meyer
  • John Nesirky
  • Ngethn O’Thawvl Wedlvn
  • Ronald John Phillips
  • Fiona Quin
  • Toni Rogers
  • Lance Seadon
  • St Patricks’ College
  • Christopher Trotter
  • Sonia Ward
  • William Ross State High School

Invited artists are:

  • Bruce Reynolds
  • Daniel Popper
  • Hannah Quinlivan
  • Ken and Julia Yonetani
  • Melissa Carey
  • Sharon Goodwin

For more information on Strand Ephemera, visit: